Women’s IPL will add depth to Indian women’s cricket: New Zealand all-rounder Suzie Bates | Cricket News


DUBAI: New Zealand all-rounder Suzie Bates said on Saturday that a possible women’s edition of the Indian Premier League would add a lot of depth to the Indian women’s cricket environment.
“Yes, firstly, it will be the most important competition for Indian women’s cricket, providing opportunities for national players to play at this level. It will create a lot of depth in the Indian women’s cricket environment. Overall, just to have so many eyes on women’s cricket by having an IPL, is going to help the game grow,” Bates said in an exclusive interview with ANI.
“Many players around the world who have played international cricket would like to take part in a full IPL competition, I think a few players are waiting for this just because of the exposure it could give to women’s cricket,” Bates said.
The idea of ​​women’s IPL has been a topic of discussion among fans and players for the past few years as cricketers like Ben Stokes, Harmanpreet Kaur, Suzie Bates, Punam Raut, Smriti Mandhana, Heather Knight, among others, supported the concept.
In April this year, a BCCI source hinted at the women’s IPL next year.
While a full fledged Women’s IPL has yet to materialize, the Women’s T20 Challenge was organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) alongside the Men’s IPL. The very first such event took place on May 22, 2018, as a single match featuring two teams, IPL Trailblazers and IPL Supernovas. Both teams featured not only Indian stars but also star players from Australia, England and New Zealand such as Suzie Bates, Alyssa Healy, Danielle Wyatt, Beth Mooney etc. Defeating Supernovas by three wickets at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, IPL Trailblazers won the first challenge.
Also in 2019 and 2020, the women’s T20 Challenge was organized by the BCCI alongside the men’s IPL. In 2019, a third team named IPL Velocity was added to the competition. The event, like its previous edition, featured world-class female cricketers, this time also from Sri Lanka (Chamari Attapattu) and the West Indies (Stafanie Taylor) and Bangladesh (Jahanara Alam). Supernovas won this competition beating IPL Velocity in the final by four wickets at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.
IPL Trailblazers won the 2020 edition of the event beating IPL Supernovas in the final by 16 runs in Sharjah.

You Can Read Also

Politics News



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.