The Masters: Abraham Ancer ‘gutted’ after two-stroke penalty for inadvertent bunker error

The Masters: Abraham Ancer 'gutted' after two-stroke penalty for inadvertent bunker error



The Masters: Abraham Ancer 'gutted' after two-stroke penalty for inadvertent bunker error

Video footage showed Ancer ‘unknowingly’ hit the sand in a bunker at the 15th hole on Thursday.

In a statement from James B. Hyler, Jr., chairman of the Augusta National competition committee, because the contact of the sand was “deemed visible to the naked eye” and the world No. 31 signed his card score, a penalty has been imposed.

“On the 15th hole in Thursday’s first round, Abraham Ancer unknowingly hit the sand before making his third shot from the bunker on the greenside,” the statement said.

“After Mr. Ancer signed his scorecard and left the scoring area, the Committee reviewed video evidence regarding a potential breach of rule 12.2b (1), which states that touching sand in a bunker just behind the ball results in a penalty. Contact with the sand was deemed visible to the naked eye. If this had not been the case, the video evidence would have been ignored and no penalty would have been applied. “

After finishing with a bogey six on the 15th par five hole, he became a triple bogey eight with the penalty and his one in 73 became a three in 75.

“I have just been informed that I have been sentenced to a penalty of 2 strokes for unintentionally grazing the sand in my backswing on hole 15”, Ancer wrote on Twitter Thursday, accompanied by a video of his transgression. “While I’m emptied, I can’t wait to take care of it tomorrow.”
Visit CNN.com/sport for more news, features and videos
The rules for televised competitions set out in 2017 by the United States Golf Association (USGA) state that it “shall assign one or more of its officials to monitor the video broadcast.”

“This oversight role will include both a proactive review to identify and help resolve potential rule issues as they arise, and a reactive review if necessary, for example to assist course referees who request real-time information and to assist the Committee when it assesses problems based on something that has occurred at a prior time. “

Ancer is in a group with first leader Hideki Matsuyama as well as Harris English for the first two rounds.



You Can Read Also

Politics News

Published
Categorized as Sports

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *