Temba Bavuma back as South Africa captain at T20 World Cup | Cricket News

JOHANNESBURG: Captain of South Africa Temba Bavuma has recovered from injury and will take charge of the squad for the Twenty20 World Cup in Australia later this year.
He has fully recovered from a left elbow injury sustained in the T20 series against India in June, Cricket South Africa said on Tuesday when naming the squad of 15 players and three traveling reserves for the tournament in October and november.
Rassie van der Dussen, however, was ruled out after having to undergo surgery to repair a fracture in his left index finger, suffered in the second Test against England last week.
South Africa have included Tristan Stubbs, 22, after an impressive outing in the recent T20 series against England, but there is no room for teenager Dewald Brevis, who was signed for the Premier League. Indian League this year but has yet to play for the T20 national team. .
“It’s been a really tough team to select, just because we had so many players in great form over the last few months and performing at a level that made the selectors sit up and take notice,” said the head of selectors Victor Mpitsang.
“Someone like Tristan Stubbs who wasn’t in the frame a year ago has done incredibly well to work his way into the mix based on his performance and his selection should be an inspiration to all. young players.”
South Africa will play a T20 warm-up series against India later this month, followed by a three-game One Day international series in early October for which a squad was also named on Tuesday.
T20 World Cup crew: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Reeza HendricksHeinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs
Traveling Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo
ODI squad v India: Bavuma (captain), De Kock, Hendricks, Klaasen, Maharaj, Janneman Malan, Markram, Miller, Ngidi, Nortje, Parnell, Phehlukwayo, Pretorius, Rabada, Shamsi.

You Can Read Also

Politics News


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.