Senior Women’s T20: Railways beat Maharashtra by seven wickets; clinch the title | Cricket News


SURAT: Maharashtra skipper Smriti Mandhana’s 84 went in vain as Railways beat Maharashtra by seven wickets to win the senior women’s T20 tournament on Wednesday.
Choosing to bat, Maharashtra rolled over Mandhana’s 84 from just 56 balls to post a challenge of 160 for four.
In response, fly-half S Meghana (52) and D Hemalatha (65) slammed half a century as the Railways chased the target with 11 balls to spare.
Left-handed hitter Mandhana played with the Railways offense as she hammered 11 limits and three maximums and forged a 74-point stand with flyhalf Shivali Shinde, who hit a 30-point shot.
Mandhana anchored the innings even as the other batters faltered.
For the Railways, Swagatika Rath was the bowlers’ choice when she returned with numbers of 3 for 33, while skipper Sneh Rana broke a wicket.
Chasing 161, Railways fly-half S Meghana subdued the Maharashtra attack with a 52-32 ball, hitting nine boundaries.
One against D Hemalatha, whose shot was studded with nine limits and two maximums, pushed the game deep.
She was fired in the 17th, but by then the damage was done.
K Anjali Sarvani (26 not eliminated) and Sneh Rana (6 not eliminated) then ensured there were no more setbacks as Railways chased the target with ease.

You Can Read Also

Politics News



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.