Neeraj Chopra to lead 37-member athletics team at Commonwealth Games, participation in some fitness and fitness topics | More sports news



NEW DELHI: The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) on Thursday named a 37-member Indian athletics team, to be led by the Olympic champion javelin thrower Neeraj Choprafor the next Commonwealth Games, with the selection committee choosing athletes along expected lines with no major surprises.
Of the 37 selected by the AFI selection committee, 18 are women, with star sprinters Hima Das and Dutee Chand earning their place in the women’s 4x100m relay team.
The coaches have also named a men’s 4x400m relay team.
AFI President Adille Sumariwalla said selected athletes, except those who have been asked to prove their form and fitness and who compete overseas, will train in Chula Vista in the United States before the CWG from July 28 to August 8 and their visas are expected.
The Indian team also includes Avinash Sable, who recently broke his own national record in the 3,000m steeplechase for the eighth time, as well as Jyothi Yarraji, who broke his own 100m NR hurdles twice last month.
There is also Aishwarya Babu, who broke her own national triple jump record with a stunning effort of 14.14m at the recent National Interstate Championships in Chennai.
However, 200m national record holder Amlan Borgohain, who won a sprint double (100m and 200m) at the National Inter-State, missed the bus as he couldn’t reach the standard CWG rating set by the AFI.
Although selected, some of the athletes will need to prove their fitness and fitness ahead of the Birmingham Games.
Veteran discus thrower Seema Punia was lucky enough to feature in her fifth CWG given her past performances at the Games. His participation, however, is subject to achieving the qualification standard set by the AFI in a competition in the United States.
Punia won a medal in each of the four CWGs she competed in earlier.
“We allowed him to train and compete in the United States given his past results at the CWG and the Asian Games. His participation in the CWG will absolutely depend on his performance in the United States,” Sumariwalla said of Punia, which jumped on June 10-14. National Interstate Championships.
“We are asking the Indian Olympic Association to increase our quota by one and help get some athletes accredited,” Sumariwalla said.
The AFI received a quota of 36 in the Indian contingent for the CWG.
shot putter Tajinder Pal Singh Toor is expected to perform well in Kazakhstan while Amoj Jacob has been selected to the men’s 4x400m relay team subject to his recovery and fitness.
Jacob had pulled his hamstrings in the final round for the Indian “A” team at the Interstate Championships.
“Similarly, the Navjeet Kaur Dhillon discus throwers and Seema Antil Punia as well as hammer thrower Sarita Singh will have to perform in Kazakhstan or California. Walker Bhawna Jat will have to prove her physical condition,” said the AFI President.
National record holder high jumper Tejaswin Shankar, who won gold at the 2022 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships in the United States last week with a season-best performance of 2.27m, n was not chosen because he did not participate in the National Inter-State and did not request a bye.
“Only three – Neeraj Chopra, Avinash Sable and Seema Punia – had requested a waiver to participate in the National Inter-State. Shankar did not come to participate in the National Inter-State and did not request a waiver to participate. , said Sumariwalla.
He also said Tamil Nadu long jumper Jeswin Aldrin, who won Federation Cup gold in April with a wind-assisted 8.37m, was not chosen in the squad. due to a lack of consistency.
Sumariwalla also said Sable could compete in both the 3,000m steeplechase and the 5,000m – in which he also holds the national record – if the CWG schedule permits.
MV Jilna from Kerala was included in the women’s 4x100m relay team, as was NS Simi.
Jilna was a member of India’s “B” team which finished third in the National Inter-State. She had finished second in the Federation Cup 100m with a time of 11.63s while clocking 11.90s in the National Inter-State semi-finals.
Karnataka’s Simi, who finished sixth in the 100m final with a time of 11.88 seconds, was also named to the team.
AFI Planning Commission Chairman Lalit Bhanot said there were no waivers to the policy of not selecting non-campers for relay teams.
Srabani Nanda was training in Jamaica courtesy of the AFI, it’s like Dutee training with his trainer N Ramesh in Odisha. They can now train together in the month remaining before the CWG. They will join the camp, have already joined the camp and will now train together,” Bhanot said.
“In order to make sure no one is hiding from the various tests, they got permission from the AFI and they gave details of where they were training.”
The team:
Men: Avinash Sable (3000m steeplechase); Nitender Rawat (Marathon); M Sreeshankar and Muhammed Anees Yahiya (long jump); Abdulla Aboobacker, Praveen Chithravel and Eldhose Paul (triple jump); Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Put Shot); Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu and Rohit Yadav (javelin throw); Sandeep Kumar and Amit Khatri (running); Amoj Jacob, Noah Nirmal Tom, Arokia Rajiv, Muhammed Ajmal, Naganathan Pandi and Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m relay).
Women: S Dhanalakshmi (100m and 4x100m relay); Jyothi Yarraji (100m hurdles); Aishwarya B (long jump and triple jump) and Ancy Sojan (long jump); Manpreet Kaur (Put Throw); Navjeet Kaur Dhillon and Seema Antil Punia (discus); Annu Rani and Shilpa Rani (javelin throwing); Manju Bala Singh and Sarita Romit Singh (hammer throw); Bhawna Jat and Priyanka Goswami (running); Hima Das, Dutee Chand, Srabani Nanda, MV Jilna and NS Simi (4x100m relay).


You Can Read Also

Politics News



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.