IPL 2022, Lucknow Super Giants vs Gujarat Titans Highlights: Rashid, Gill star as GT beat LSG by 62 to seal play-off spot | Cricket News


PUNE: Gujarat Titans found their way back to winning ways after back-to-back defeats and became the first team to seal their place in the play-offs by beating Lucknow Super Giants by 62 points in an Indian Premier League game on Tuesday .
Even though LSG did a decent job with the ball to limit GT to 144 for 4 after being asked to bowl, the KL Rahul-led side fell short with the bat as they were knocked out for 82 for 13 .5 overs.
As it happened | Dashboard | Points table
Rashid Khan (4/24) played with the ball for GT, while Yash Dayal (2/24) and R Sai Kishore (2/7) picked up two wickets each.
Earlier, opening hitter Shubman Gill hit a fine half-century, but LSG produced a disciplined bowling effort to limit GT to modest scoring.
Gill didn’t stay on 63 from 49 with the help of seven fours but lacked support on the other side. He was left stranded as GT’s next top scorer was David Miller (26).

(Photo BCCI/IPL)
Avesh Khan (2/26) took two wickets for LSG, while Mohsin Khan (1/18) and Jason Holder (1/44) scalped one each.
GT sealed their place in the play-off, reaching 18 points in 12 games. The loss ended LSG’s five-game winning streak, but they are still comfortably in second place on 16 points and need just one win to book their place in the bottom four.
LSG got off to a slow start in their pursuit and their problems got even worse after losing Quinton de Kock (11) and skipper KL Rahul (8) in back-to-back overs to drop to 24 for 2 after four overs.

As Yash Dayal represented De Kock, Rahul edged a short delivery from Mohammed Shami to Wriddhiman Saha behind the stumps.
Debutant Karan Sharma didn’t help his cause either, handing a hold to David Miller inside the circle to give Dayal his second scalp of the day.
Introduced into the attack in the eighth, Rashid Khan struck with his third delivery, dismissing Krunal Pandya with a googly and Saha was quick to pull the bails.


(Photo BCCI/IPL)
With wickets falling in rapid succession from the start, LSG never had any momentum in their pursuit, reaching 58 for 4 halfway through.
The ever-increasing request rate led to the downfall of Ayush Badoni (8), who was puzzled by Saha off R Sai Kishore.
The LSG scoreboard did a dismal number as Marcus Stoinis (2) and Jason Holder (1) also failed to live up to the challenge.
Deepak Hooda scored for LSG with a struggling 26-ball 27.

Earlier, GT’s decision to strike first after winning the toss backfired as they lost Wriddhiman Saha (5) and Matthew Wade (10) on the cheap with the scoreboard showing just 24 in five overs.
With wickets falling on the other side, Gill did his business cautiously and in the company of skipper Hardik Pandya shared 27 runs for the third wicket before the latter left, edging one to Quinton de Kock behind the stumps for give Avesh his second wicket of the day.
Once Hardik was gone, Gill took responsibility for himself and upped the ante, first cutting Avesh to the edge of the square, then knocking down Krunal Pandya to the third-man fence in the next.
But afterwards, Gill and Miller failed to open their arms as Mohsin and Krunal played in a tight, long line to stem the running rush.
Miller finally broke the shackles on the third delivery of the 16th with a huge six against Jason Holder on extra coverage, in what was the first innings maximum.
Miller, however, perished on the last ball of the over, caught by Ayush Badoni as he cut a deep third right man.
Gill, on the other hand, led his innings smoothly and raised his fifty on 42 with a single against Dushmantha Chameera.
Once he hit fifty, Gill opened up and hit Chameera for consecutive boundaries to pick up 14 runs from 17th.
Rahul Tewatia (22 steps on 16 balls) used the long grip to good effect in the final, crushing Holder on three boundaries to bring the score close to the 150-point mark.

You Can Read Also

Politics News



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.