India shines on the first day of the Asian Track Cycling Championships and wins 10 medals | More sports news



India’s runners celebrate their bronze medal during the Elite Men’s Team Sprint Awards Ceremony. (AP Photo)

NEW DELHI: India, host, launched its campaign at top speed Asian Track Cycling Championships by pocketing 10 medals, including a gold, on the opening day of competitions here on Saturday.
The opening day of the 41st Senior, 28th Junior Asian Track and 10th Para-track cycling championships attended 12 finals including four for the para championships.
The Indians picked up one silver and six bronze in the senior and junior events, while one gold, one silver and one bronze were won in the para events.
The Indian team opened their tally with a silver medal in the junior women’s 4km team pursuit event with Pooja Dhanole, Himanshi Singh, Reet Kapoor and Jasmeek Kaur Sekhon in 4:54.034s against Korean runners KIM Chaeyeon, Cheon Yunyeong, Kim Eunsong, AN Yeongseo, who clocked 4:47.360 to win the gold medal. Kazakhstan took bronze with a time of 4:48.872s.
In the senior women’s 4km team pursuit event, Indian runners consisting of Rejiye Kh Devi, Chayanika Gogoi, Meenakshi and Monika Jat outclassed Uzbek runners Evegeniya Golotina, Madina Kakhkhorova, Margarita Misyurina, Yania Kuskova to secure a bronze medal in 4:44.699s.
After a gap of 17 years, the Indian team has won a medal in the senior women’s category in all Asian Track Cycling Championships. Gold and silver in the event were respectively won by Korea (Jumi Lee, Jieun Shin, Youri Kim, Ahreum Na) and Kazakhstan.
The Indians grabbed another bronze medal when Niraj Kumar, Birjit Yumnam, Aashirwad Saxena and Gurnoor Poonia combined in a time of 4:22.737 and finished third in the junior men’s 4km team pursuit event. Kazakhstan won gold while Korea won silver.
India secured another bronze medal in the senior men’s 4km team pursuit event. Japan took gold while Korea took silver.
India head coach VN Singh was a proud man after the home side’s display on the opening day.
“India has come a long way in endurance events, about 8 years ago it was difficult to finish the race but now the scenario has changed and Indian runners not only finish the races but also win the medals” , did he declare.
In the Senior Women’s Team Sprint Event, India Trishya PaulShushikala Agashe and Mayuri Lute, who accused former head coach RK Sharma of sexual harassment during a recent training tour in Slovenia, won the bronze medal with a time of 50.438s.
Korea’s Sunyoung CHO, Hae Ji Park and Hyeonseo Hwang took the gold in 49.685, while Riyu Ohta of Japan Yuka Kobayashi and Mina Sato won silver with a time of 49.973s.
In the elite men’s team sprint event, David Beckham of India, Ronaldo Sing and Rojit Singh won bronze with a time of 44.627s. Japan took gold while Malaysia won silver.
In the junior women’s team sprint event, Korean runners Yunseo NA, Doye KIM and Chaeyeon KIM set a new Asian record with a time of 51.607 seconds to win the gold medal. Malaysia won silver while India took bronze.
In the men’s junior team sprint event, Korea won gold, while Kazakhstan and Malaysia took silver and bronze respectively. India finished fourth.
In the Para Women’s C1-C5 500m time trial, India’s Jyoti Gaderaya clocked 58.283 seconds to win the gold medal ahead of teammate Geeta Rao.


FacebookTwitterinstagramKOO APPYOUTUBE


You Can Read Also

Politics News



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.