Tech Tycoon Elon Musk recently acquired the microblogging platform Twitter, and a strange trend has been observed since news of the acquisition came out. A few high profile accounts have lost thousands of followers and at the same time other high profile accounts that are pro-conservative have actually seen huge follower gains. Examples of the first include barack obama which lost more than 300,000 subscribers and Katy Perry, which lost 200,000 subscribers. Regarding the latter, the President of Brazil got an additional 90,000 people to follow him on Twitter, with the representative Marjorie Taylor Greene earning 41,181 subscribers.
In the midst of this, many quit Twitter altogether. There have been massive deactivations. In the case of Twitter, you must first deactivate your account if you want it to be permanently deleted from Twitter’s servers. The deactivation period lasts 30 days. If you do not attempt to reactivate your account within this time, your account will be permanently deleted. Here are the steps to deactivate your Twitter account.
Click the Plus icon (the horizontal three-dot icon). Then, from the drop-down menu, go to “Settings and privacy”.
From the ‘Your account’ tab, click on ‘Deactivate your account’.
After reading the account deactivation information, click “Deactivate”.
You will be asked for your password. After entering it, click on the ‘Deactivate account’ button.
Now you have to wait 30 days for your account to be permanently deleted from Twitter servers. You will not be able to access any of your tweets or reactivate your old account after this time has elapsed, provided you do not attempt to reactivate it within the same time frame.
During the 30-day window, your username or “id” and public profile will not be visible on Twitter, either on the website or the app. Additionally, once your account is permanently deleted, your username will be available for registration by other accounts on Twitter.
You Can Read Also