Dzumhur, who reached a career-high 23rd in 2018, was serving at 5-5, 40-40 in the first set against Botic van de Zandschulp when a forehand from his Dutch opponent was called by the linesman.
Dzumhur approached the chair umpire to request that the appeal be quashed, but to no avail, then lost his temper. He then lost the service game to call 6-5.
An enraged Dzumhur continued to protest with the chair umpire during the end change and received a code violation. After returning to the field, he again said something to the referee in the next game and received a points penalty.
The world No.125 then left the pitch, threw his racquet over his bag and hit his fists with Van de Zandschulp signaling his intention to stop playing.
As de Zandschulp walked away with his bag, Dzumhur had a discussion with the tournament supervisor but continued to speak angrily with the chair umpire.
“In a second round qualifying match in Acapulco, Damir Dzumhur received two code violations for unsportsmanlike conduct, and his failure to continue the match resulted in a default,” ATP said in a statement.
“In addition to a total fine of $ 6,500, Dzumhur loses the second-round qualifying prize of $ 5,280.
“Following the sanctions imposed on the spot, a more in-depth investigation will be opened under the provision on major player infringements under the ATP rules,” added the male governing body.
You Can Read Also