bjp: BJP Wins Surprise Wins In Haryana, Maharashtra, Karnataka In Rajya Sabha Elections: Key Points | India News



NEW DELHI: Cross-voting and allegations of horse-trading dominated elections held on Friday for 16 seats in four state assemblies – Maharashtra, Haryana, Karnataka and Rajasthan.
Vote counting was delayed in Maharashtra and Haryana after the BJP and independent candidates, backed by the party, complained of misconduct and demanded the cancellation of the ballot.
Congress scored a major victory in Rajasthan where the party’s three candidates for the Rajya Sabha seats went home, dashing the hopes of the BJP-backed independent Subhash Chandra, who was betting on the cross-vote of Congress and independents to mark the surprise.
The results in Karnataka gave the BJP a leg up as they won three seats, winning third in JD(S) eyes, as Gowda’s outfit could not reach an agreement with Congress.
Rajasthan outcome relieves Congress
For the Congress, bogged down by repeated defeats and defections after 2019, the victory in Rajasthan was uplifting as it demonstrated better management against the BJP. Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot took credit for the party’s success.
Congress candidates Randeep Surjewala, Mukul Wasnik and Pramod Tiwari got 43, 42 and 41 votes respectively, while BJP’s Ghanshyam Tiwari got 43 votes. The independent BJP-backed Subhash Chandra only put in 30.
A Congress vote was rejected while BJP Shobha MP Rani Kushwaha voted for Congress candidate Pramod Tiwari in a big surprise. She was suspended from the party.
The CM described the success of the party’s candidates as a “victory for congressional unity” in the state and expressed confidence that the party would retain power in upcoming assembly polls.
Ruling party bags win in Karnataka
In a strong endorsement of the BJP in the state, the ruling party claimed victory by winning all three Rajya Sabha seats it contested out of the four that went to the polls.
Two JDS leaders reportedly challenged their party whip to vote for the congressional candidate. One said he “liked” Congress.
Congress, the main opposition party, managed to win only one of the two seats for which its candidates were vying, while the JD(S) failed.
Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, actor-politician Jaggesh and MLC Lehar Singh Siroya of the BJP, and former Union Minister Jairam Ramesh of the Congress were declared victorious. Sitharaman and Ramesh were re-elected to the Rajya Sabha of Karnataka.
There was suspense over the outcome of the fight for the fourth seat, which saw a close contest between the three main political parties none of which had enough votes for an easy victory.
Haryana: Maken failed to garner enough votes
In a jolt in Congress, BJP’s Krishan Lal Panwar and Saffron-backed independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma have been declared elected for Haryana’s two Rajya Sabha seats, after major drama over alleged breaches of the rules of vote which delayed the counting by more than seven hours.
Vote counting began after midnight and the results were announced after 2 a.m. Saturday.
Election Commission officials say Congress candidate Ajay Maken did not get enough votes. The party said one of its MPs had cross-voted while one MP’s vote was declared invalid.
Major setback for ruling alliance in Maharashtra
In a major setback for Maharashtra’s ruling alliance of Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress, the BJP won three of Rajya Sabha’s six seats on Saturday, while the ruling cartel questioned the eight-hour delay in the counting of votes.
The BJP winners are Union Minister Piyush Goyal and former Minister of State Anil Bonde, and Dhananjay Mahadik. Sanjay Raut of the Shiv Sena, Praful Patel of the NCP and Imran Pratapgarhi of the Congress also won the hard-fought elections.
Of the 284 valid votes, Goyal polled 48, Bonde 48, Mahadik 41.56, Raut 41, Pratapgarhi 44 and Patel 43. The high-stakes battle for the sixth has proven to be a bitter affair with Congress and the charges BJP commercials, even addressing the Election Commission.
Vote counting began after an eight-hour delay amid complaints of cross-voting and rule-breaking by the BJP and the ruling alliance.
The BJP and the Shiv Sena approached the Election Commission, alleging cross-voting and demanding the disqualification of the votes. The polling committee ordered Maharashtra’s returning officer Rajya Sabha to reject the vote cast by Shiv Sena legislator Suhas Kande, after which vote counting began after 1 a.m. The first result came out in two hours.
After the stunning setback, however, Congress leaders admitted shortcomings in the coordination of the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi.


You Can Read Also

World News



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.