‘Big gift from Karnataka’: PM Modi and Shah hail CM Bommai after BJP’s Rajya Sabha success | India News



BENGALURU: Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah congratulated Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai on Saturday after the BJP won three state seats in the Rajya Sabha elections.
In Friday’s four-seat biennial election, the Saffron Party clinched the crucial third seat in a direct contest with Congress and JD(S).
Prime Minister Modi hailed the chief minister for his political strategy and acumen which played a major role in winning the three-seat BJP in the election of Rajya Sabha, according to a statement issued by the minister’s office in chief.
“Modi called Bommai by phone immediately after the announcement of the results and congratulated the chief minister for his role in the victory,” the statement said.
“Your efforts were valuable in getting three BJP members elected to the Rajya Sabha. This contribution from Karnataka would inspire other good works,” Prime Minister Modi said in a statement, quoting Bommai.
Bommai also received a phone call from Union Home Minister Amit Shah, who expressed his joy at the BJP’s victory and congratulated the state leadership for securing victory for its third candidate. despite a tough political challenge in the numbers game.
“It is a big gift from Karnataka to increase party strength in Rajya Sabha,” Shah reportedly told Bommai while praising his efforts.
BJP National Chairman JP Nadda also called Bommai and congratulated the Chief Minister. “Your hard work has paid off. Your strategies have paid off,” Nadda said.
In polls held on Friday, the party managed to win three out of four seats. The three winning candidates are Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Kannada film actor turned politician Jaggesh and Lahar Singh Siroya, considered close to BJP strongman and former Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa.
Congress candidate Jairam Ramesh also emerged victorious.
The JD(S) and Congress, which had lined up D Kupendra Reddy and Mansoor Ali Khan respectively as fourth candidates, lost to Siroya.
The JD(S) party’s prospects were marred by the Congress party, which aligned Khan. To further undermine his ambition, two JD(S) MPs cross-voted – one in favor of the Congress and the other suspected of having voted for the BJP.
(With PTI entries)


You Can Read Also

World News



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.