New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson to return in test against England | Cricket News


New Zealand captain Kane Williamson is set to return to Test cricket for the first time since November after being included in their initial 20-man squad for next month’s tour of England.
New Zealand Cricket (NZC) named an expanded squad for the three-Test series on Tuesday to include cover for players who may miss two warm-up matches at the end of this month due to their Premier League involvement. India (IPL) in progress. .
The squad will be reduced to 15 ahead of the first test at Lord’s on June 2.
Williamson’s elbow injury kept him out of a Test match in India in December and a home series against South Africa and Bangladesh.
The 31-year-old currently plays for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL and could be among the absentees for warm-up matches, alongside Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Devon Conway and Daryl Mitchell.

“The England red ball tour in the first place is clearly at the top of our priority list and we can’t wait to get going there in a few weeks time,” coach Gary Stead said.
“Everything is going to plan, we will have everyone fit and available for the first test at Lord’s, and we aim to announce our final 15-man squad for this series once we have completed our warm-up matches.”
Left arm spinner Ajaz Patel returns to the team, having not played since winning all 10 wickets in one inning against India.
Uncapped players Cam Fletcher – who was called up for the South African series earlier this year, Michael Bracewell, Blair Tickner and Jacob Duffy are also included.
Team: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Cameron Fletcher, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Will Young

You Can Read Also

Politics News



মন্তব্য করুন

আপনার ই-মেইল এ্যাড্রেস প্রকাশিত হবে না। * চিহ্নিত বিষয়গুলো আবশ্যক।